List of Indian Athletes & Teams Qualified for 2022 Commonwealth Games

Full List of Indian Athletes Qualified for 2022 Commonwealth Games Birmingham: We all closely heading towards the most important sporting event of the year, the 2022 Commonwealth Games. This time the competition is organized and hosted in Birmingham, United Kingdom, where Indian athletes will be making their eighteen appearances in the quadrennial event.

List of Indian Athletes Qualified for 2022 Commonwealth Games
Full List of Indian Athletes Qualified for 2022 Commonwealth Games Birmingham

Athletes are eagerly waiting and practicing harder to mark their dominance at the 2022 CWG. Indian athlete needs to qualify at the Commonwealth Games, where fans and commonwealth Games enthusiasts are keen to reveal the names of their favorite athletes. It is not an easy task to qualify at the games as athletes have to go through tough qualification standards along with completing the national trials.

Here we have listed the names of the Indian Athletes who have qualified for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.


Indian athletes have been qualified for the mixed team event with their positions held in the combined BWF World ranking. Also, the athletes underwent the Senior Selection Trials and finally, the list of 10 players was selected for the upcoming 2022 CWG event.

Women’s Competition
1. Aakarshi Kashyap
2. Ashwini Ponappa
3. Gayatri Gopichand
4. PV Sindhu
5. Treesa Jolly

Men’s Competition
6. B Sumeeth Reddy
7. Chirag Shetty
8. Kidambi Srikanth
9. Lakshya Sen
10. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy


Indian athletes have shown top-class execution at the previous Commonwealth Games. This time five-time Asian medallist Shiva Thapa along with Commonwealth Games medallist Mohammad Hussamuddin and Amit Panghal will be seen competing in the event.

1. Amit Panghal – men’s 51kg
2. Ashish Chaudhary – men’s 80kg
3. Mohammad Hussamuddin – men’s 57kg
4. Rohit Tokas – men’s 67kg
5. Sagar – men’s 92+kg
6. Sanjeet – men’s 92kg
7. Shiva Thapa – men’s 63.5kg
8. Sumit Kundu – men’s 75kg


It came as great news for Indian cricket fans, where Cricket for the first time in the form of Women’s T20 International will make its debut at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. Total 8 teams India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Barbados, South Africa, Srilanka and host England will be playing at the games.

On the basis of ICC T20 rankings, 5 teams from the above eight teams got qualified automatically for the Commonwealth Games

1. Indian women’s cricket team


The Indian national hockey team (both men’s and women’s) successfully got qualified at the CWG 2022 sports on the basis of Federation India Hockey rankings. A total of 10 teams will be competing at the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

It was in 2002, the Indian Women’s hockey team for the first time won a gold medal for the country and this time after twenty years, there are huge expectations from the athletes to repeat the same. Indian Men’s hockey team won two silver medals in 2010 and 2014.

1. Indian men’s hockey team
2. Indian women’s hockey team

Table Tennis

A total of eight Indian players, four men, and four women are all set to compete at the Birmingham 2022 table tennis competition. The players got qualified through the ITTF World Team rankings on 2nd January 2020.

Men’s Competition
1. Harmeet Desai
2. Sanil Shetty
3. Sathiyan Gnanasekaran
4. Sharath Kamal

Women’s Competition
5. Archana Kamath
6. Manika Batra
7. Reeth Rishya
8. Sreeja Akula


Mirabai Chanu, the former Commonwealth Champion, and the Tokyo Olympics silver medallist is once again all set to triumph and challenge the CWG weightlifting event along with other strong 12 Indian weightlifters at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. She is expected to compete in the 55 kg category instead of 49 Kg due to late rule changes.

Women’s Competition
1. Mirabai Chanu – 49kg
2. Bindyarani Devi – 55kg
3. Popy Hazarika – 59kg
4. Usha Kumara – 87kg
5. Purnima Pandey – +87kg

Men’s Competition
6. Sanket Mahadev – 55kg
7. Chanambam Rishikanta Singh – 55kg
8. Jeremy Lalrinnunga – 67kg
9. Achinta Sheuli – 73kg
10. Ajay Singh – 81kg
11. Vikas Thakur – 96kg
12. Ragala Venkat Rahul – 96kg


The Tokyo 2020 Olympic medal winners Ravi Kumar Dahiya (57 Kg) and Bajrang Puniya (65 Kg) will be once again showcasing their talent in the 2022 Commonwealth Games. Both of them qualified for the event through the national selection trials held in New Delhi.

Women’s Competition
Pooja Gehlot – 50kg
Vinesh Phogat – 53kg
Anshu Malik – 57kg
Sakshi Malik – 62kg
Divya Kakran – 68kg
Pooja Sihag – 76kg

Men’s Competition
Ravi Kumar Dahiya – 57kg
Bajrang Punia – 65kg
Naveen – 74kg
Deepak Punia – 86kg
Deepak – 97kg
Mohit Grewal (125kg)

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.