India’s Weightlifting Team for CWG: Eight men, seven women

India to send 15 Weightlifting athletes to Commonwealth Games 2022: For the upcoming 2022 Commonwealth Games, India is all set to send 15 athletes from the weightlifting contingent, excluding coaches and support staff. This time the Commonwealth Games are scheduled to take place in Birmingham, England between 28th July and 8th August 2022.

The Indian weightlifter’s squad consists of eight men and seven women, who will compete in 15 out of the 16 allotted weight divisions. It will be headed by the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Silver medallist Saikhom Mirabai Chanu.

India Weightlifting Team for CWG
India’s Weightlifting Team for Commonwealth Games

The Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWF) earlier planned to send Mirabai in the 55 kg categories and former world junior bronze medallist Jhilli Dalabehera in the 49 Kg category to compete at the 2022 CWG. The motive behind it was to increase the chances of winning maximum medals at this important multinational event.

However, the International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) came up with new rules, which changed the plan of participation of the Tokyo Olympics Silver medallists in the 55 kg category at CWG.
Owing to certain rules and regulations, the IWLF’s appeal was rejected by the International Weightlifting Federation (IWF). It is a disheartening moment for IWLF as this time India will be unable to participate in the 64 Kg event.

Also Read : Commonwealth Games Cricket 2022: TV Schedule, Live Stream, Teams

A Silver medallist in the women’s 49 Kg category at the Commonwealth Weightlifting Championships, Jhilli Dalabehera also failed to qualify for the CWG squad. India to send 15 member Weightlifting squad for CWG 2022.

The squad
Men: Sanket Sargar (55kg), Gururaja (61kg), Jeremy Lalrinnunga (67kg), Achinta Sheuli (73kg), Ajay Singh (81kg), Vikas Thakur (96kg), Lovepreet Singh (109kg), Gurdeep Singh (+109kg).

Women: Mirabai Chanu (49kg), Bindyarani Devi (55kg), Popy Hazarika (59kg), Harjinder Kaur (71kg), Punam Yadav (76kg), B.N. Usha (87kg), Purnima Pandey (+87kg).

Coaches: Vijay Sharma, Pramod Kumar Sharma, Sandip Kumar and Dathan A.P.;

Manager: Anande Gowda.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.