How many medals has India won in Wrestling at the commonwealth Games?

India stands in the second position with India have won a total of 102 medals in Wrestling at the Commonwealth Games including 43 Gold, 37 Silver, and 22 Bronze. Wrestling made its official debut at the Commonwealth Games in 1930. A total of 15 nations have competed in the CWG since its inception, where Canada tops the list with a total of 135 medals.

Wrestling is also a very popular sport in India, where people watch the event from the beginning. Here many of our readers are eager to know How many medals India won in Wrestling at Commonwealth Games. Below you will find India’s medal count in wrestling at each CWG event.

India won Wrestling medals at the commonwealth Games
How many medals has India won in Wrestling at the commonwealth Games?

India won Wrestling medals at the commonwealth Games

Gold Coast Games (2018)
Sushil Kumar won three back-to-back gold medals, with India reaching a medal tally of 12 medals (5 gold, 3 silver, and 4 bronze).

Glasgow Games (2014)
Indian wrestlers continue their dominance at the 2014 Glasgow Games, by winning a total of 13 medals (5 gold, 6 silver, and 2 bronze medals).

Delhi Games (2010)
It was at the 2010 Delhi CWG Games, that 19 wrestlers were able to win medals for India. It was a glorious event for Indians, with 10 gold, 5 silver, and 4 bronze medals.

Manchester Games (2002)
Once again Indian wrestlers made a strong comeback with 3 gold and 3 silver medals at the 2002 Manchester Games.

Also See: List of Indian Athletes at 2022 Commonwealth Games

Victoria Games (1994)
Indian Wrestlers failed to dominate at the 1994 Victoria Games and had to satisfy with 5 medals including 2 silver and 3 bronze medals.

Brisbane Games (1982)
Once again at the 1982 Brisbane Games, Indian wrestlers were successful in clinching gold medals in the form of Ram Chander, Mahabir Singh, Jagminder Singh, and Rajinder Singh.

Edmonton Games (1978)
These three wrestlers, Ashok Kumar, Satbir Singh, and Rajinder Singh lead the game by winning a gold medal in their respective categories. A total of 3 gold, 3 silver, and 3 bronze medals were won at the 1978 Edmonton Games.

Christchurch Games (1974)
With 4 gold, 5 silver, and 1 bronze medal, India won a total of 10 medals at the 1974 Christchurch Games.

Edinburgh Games (1970)
The 1970 Edinburgh Games is still remembered as one of the best CWG for wrestling events, where wrestlers were successful in winning 5 gold, 3 silver, and one bronze medal. Mukhtiar Singh showed outstanding performance by winning back-to-back gold medals.

Kingston Games (1966)
Mukhtiar Singh, Bhim Singh, and Bhishamber Singh are the three wrestlers to have won a gold medal for India in the CWG Wrestling games.

Cardiff Games (1958)
Lila Ram Sangwan won a gold medal in the Heavyweight category, whereas Lachmi Kant Pandy bagged silver in the welterweight category.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.