How many medals has India won in Boxing at the commonwealth Games?

India have won a total of 37 medals in Boxing at the Commonwealth Games including 8 Gold, 12 Silver, and 17 Bronze. One of the much-awaited sports events of the year, the XXII Commonwealth Games being hosted at Birmingham is scheduled to kick start after a couple of months from 28th July 2022. This time there will be a total of 36 sports programs where athletes from different nations will compete for the title.

It is indeed a big event for all of us, where if you belong from India you must be curious to know how many medals India won in Boxing at commonwealth games. So here you will find the detailed information about the medals won by Indian athletes in Boxing.

India won boxing medals at commonwealth games
How many medals has India won in Boxing at the commonwealth Games

India won Boxing medals at the commonwealth Games

Gold Coast Games 2018
The legendary Indian boxer Mary Kom became the first women boxer from India to bag a gold medal at the CWG event. Also in the men’s event, Vikas Krishan Yadav won a gold medal for the country.

Glasgow Games 2014
Lasihram Sarita Devi (Lightweight) won a silver medal and Pinki Rani won a bronze medal in the Flyweight category. Devendro Singh and Mandeep Jangra won the silver medal in the light flyweight and welterweight categories.

Delhi Games 2010
Manoj Kumar (Men’s Light welterweight), Suranjoy Singh (Men’s Flyweight), and Paramjeet Samota (Men’s Super-heavyweight) won gold medals at CWG Delhi Games.

Melbourne Games 2006
At the 2006 Melbourne Games, Indian boxers won a total of 5 medals (1 gold, 2 silver, and 2 bronze medals). Akhil Kumar won a gold medal in Men’s Bantamweight category. Vijender Kumar and Harpreet Singh won silvers in the welterweight and heavyweight categories. Jitender Kumar and Varghese Johnson were placed third in the flyweight and superheavyweight categories.

Manchester Games 2002
It was an impressive year for the Indian boxer, where Mohammed Ali Qamar became the first Indian boxer to clinch a gold medal at the Manchester CWG. Also two other Indian boxers Som Bahadur Pun won the second medal in Men’s Featherweight category and Jitender Kumar won bronze in the middleweight category.

Kaula Lumpur Games 1998
It was a close counter for Jitender Kumar to bag a gold medal but failed against John Pearce settling for a bronze medal at the Kaula Lumpur Games.

Victoria Games 1994
This time Sah Birju won a bronze medal in the light flyweight category.

Auckland Games 1990
Dharmendra Yadav became the solo winner with a bronze medal in the Light Flyweight category.

Queensland Games 1982
In the 1982 Queensland Games, Chenanda Machaiah won bronze medal in the welterweight category.

Edmonton Games 1978
Birender Thapa won a bronze medal in the Light Flyweight category.

Christchurch Games 1974
At the 1974 Christchurch, New Zealand Games Indian Boxers bagged two medals, one silver, and one bronze medal, with Chandra Narayan winning the silver medal in the Flyweight category and Muniswami Venu a bronze medal in the lightweight category.

Edinburg Games 1970
Shivaji Bhonsle became the first Indian athlete to clinch the bronze medal in the men’s welterweight 69 Kg category at the 1970 games in Edinburgh.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.