How many medals has India won in Badminton at the commonwealth Games?

India have won a total of 25 medals in Badminton at the Commonwealth Games including 7 Gold, 7 Silver, and 11 Bronze. We all are geared up to witness the 22nd edition of the commonwealth games which is just a couple of days away. Being one of the most important sports programs, teams are all set to compete in different categories. India is also ready and preparing hard to perform their best, where badminton is one sport each one of us is eyeing to grab a few medals for the country at this quadrennial event.

India won Badminton medals at commonwealth games
How many medals has India won in Badminton at the commonwealth Games?

Gold Coast Games (2018)
In the men’s Single category, Kidambi Srikanth won a silver medal. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty won their first-ever silver medal in the men’s double category. It was a proud moment for Indians when PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal won gold and Silver medal for the country.

Glasgow Games (2014)
Gurusai Dutt won the bronze medal in the Men’s Single category, while P. Kashyap won a gold medal. In the women’s doubles category, Ashwini Ponappa and Jwala Gutta won a silver medal.

Delhi Games (2010)
The 2010 Delhi CWG, is still remembered for the heroic achievement of Saina Nehwal, who won the first gold medal in the women’s single category. Along with Saina Nehwal, Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponappa also bagged a gold medal for the nation.

Melbourne Games (2006)
Chetan Anand defeated Aamir Ghaffar in the men’s singles winning the bronze medal. He became the first Indian athlete to achieve this feat for India.

Manchester Games (2002)
Aparna Popat once again was unable to perform her best at the 2002 Manchester Games, winning a gold medal in the women’s single category.

Kuala Lumpur Games (1998)
Pullela Gopichand won a gold medal in the men’s single at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Games, while Aparna Popat failed to win gold against Kelly Morgan, after securing a silver medal in women’s single.

Brisbane Games (1982)
The twelfth edition of the CWG hosted at the Brisbane Games was won by Syed Modi by beating the opponent Nick Yates by 7-5, 15-6,15-5.

Edmonton Games (1978)
Ace shuttler Prakash Padukone became the first athlete to bag the gold medal. He won the final match in straight games with 15-0, 15-1.

Edinburgh Games (1970)
At the 1977 Edinburgh Games, Suresh Goyal finds his spot at the last eight stages to win the bronze medal in straight games of 15-9, and 15-12.

Kingston Games (1966)
It is at this eighth edition of the CWG, Dinesh Khanna was successful to clinch the first medal for India in the badminton event.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.