India Name Full-Strength Men’s Squad for 2022 Commonwealth Games

It was on Monday, 20th June 2022, Hockey India named full strength men’s squad for the upcoming 2022 CWG event. This time the 18-member senior men’s squad headed by captain Manpreet Singh and vice-captain Harmanpreet Singh will be participating in Birmingham.

Due to the short turnaround time between the Birmingham event and the Hangzhou Asian Games, which is a qualifier for the 2024 Paris Olympics Hockey India had initially decided to send a second-string team to CWG.

Indian Men’s Hockey Squad for CWG 2022
Indian Men’s Hockey Squad for CWG 2022

However due to the rising Covid-19 condition in China, the Asian Games had been postponed to next year, HI decided to pick a strong team for this important event which is scheduled to kickstart on July 28.

Also See : Commonwealth Games 2022 Hockey Schedule & Live Stream Info

At the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, Hockey India captain Manpreet Singh led the squad strongly bagging the bronze medal. The governing body reversed the decision and later on came up with a decision to send a reserve team to Birmingham to make sure for players are rested, and perform better at the Asiad in Hangzhou.

Chief Coach Graham Reid said “We have gone with a tried and tested team for the Commonwealth games. These players have the experience of playing top teams in high-pressure games in the FIH Pro League which was good exposure for us ahead of the prestigious quadrennial event”.

Indian Hockey team will be playing in Pool B, where the first match will be against Ghana on 31st July, followed by hosts England (August 31), Canada (August 3), and Wales (August 4) with the top 2 qualifying for the semi-finals.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team Squad for Commonwealth Games 2022:

GOALKEPERS: PR Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak DEFENDERS: Varun Kumar, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh (VC), Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh.

MIDFIELDERS: Manpreet Singh (C), Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Nilakanta Sharma FORWARDS: Mandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.