List of countries participated in commonwealth games 2022

How Many Countries Participate in Commonwealth Games 2022: The multisport competition Commonwealth Games which was first inaugurated in 1930 as the British Empire Games, constituted different nations and territories participating in this important sporting venture. However over the years, due to global political implications, there have been a lot of changes in the countries participating in the event.

India after getting independence in 1947, the neighboring nation Pakistan participated in the 1954 CWG. Also Bangladesh after getting independence from Pakistan in 1971 appeared for the first time in 1978.

Countries Participate in Commonwealth Games 2022?
How Many Countries Participate in Commonwealth Games 2022?

The first inaugural Common Wealth Games of the 1930 hamilton event was hosted by 11 countries and territories mainly hosted by Australia, Bermuda, Canada, England, British Guiana, Newfoundland, Ireland, Scotland, New Zealand, Wales, and South Africa.

Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, England, and Wales are the only three nations that have participated in all of the 21 commonwealth Games.

Also Read: List of Countries/Cities Host the Commonwealth Games

List of countries and territories participated in commonwealth games 2022

The upcoming 2022 Commonwealth Games will be hosted in Birmingham, UK from 28th July to 8th August 2022. This time it will be a great sporting event where athletes from 72 countries and territories will compete against each other.

At the previous 2018 Australian Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, a total of 71 different countries participated, where some of the dependent territories of these countries also competed under their flag. Anguilla is one such team that comes under the self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom to compete at the Commonwealth Games.

Also Read : List of Indian Athletes & Teams Qualified for 2022 Commonwealth Games

Maldives is one of the Asian countries that missed the 2016 and 2018 Commonwealth Games and is now expected to make an appearance at the 2022 Birmingham CWG event. Thus it will be one of the biggest sports programs to watch out for in the coming days.

Here is the list of 72 countries and territories participate in commonwealth games 2022 :

  1. Anguilla
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Australia
  4. Bahamas
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Barbados
  7. Belize
  8. Bermuda
  9. Botswana
  10. British Virgin Islands
  11. Brunei
  12. Cameroon
  13. Canada
  14. Cayman Islands
  15. Cook Islands
  16. Cyprus
  17. Dominica
  18. England
  19. Eswatini
  20. Falkland Islands
  21. Fiji
  22. Ghana
  23. Gibraltar
  24. Grenada
  25. Guernsey
  26. Guyana
  27. India
  28. Isle of Man
  29. Jamaica
  30. Jersey
  31. Kenya
  32. Kiribati
  33. Lesotho
  34. Malawi
  35. Malaysia
  36. Maldives
  37. Malta
  38. Mauritius
  39. Montserrat
  40. Mozambique
  41. Namibia
  42. Nauru
  43. New Zealand
  44. Nigeria
  45. Niue
  46. Norfolk Island
  47. Northern Ireland
  48. Pakistan
  49. Papua New Guinea
  50. Rwanda
  51. Samoa
  52. Scotland
  53. Seychelles
  54. Sierra Leone
  55. Singapore
  56. Solomon Islands
  57. South Africa
  58. Sri Lanka
  59. St Helena
  60. St Kitts and Nevis
  61. St Lucia
  62. St Vincent and the Grenadines
  63. Tanzania
  64. The Gambia
  65. Tonga
  66. Trinidad and Tobago
  67. Turks and Caicos Islands
  68. Tuvalu
  69. Uganda
  70. Vanuatu
  71. Wales
  72. Zambia

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.